April Chapter Lunch Program - Earning A Seat At The Table – And Staying There! with Krista Terrell, APR

When: 4/26/2023 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM
UNC Charlotte Dubois Center
320 E. 9th Street | Charlotte, NC 28202
Earning A Seat At The Table And Staying There!
Our own Krista Terrell, APR, president of the Arts & Science Council, is the guest speaker for the PRSA Charlotte chapter meeting at 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, April 26. Krista's successful career has shifted from PR and communications to leading one of the most respected Local Arts Agencies in the country.
Krista will share her personal insights on what it takes for PR practitioners to earn a seat at the table and stay there. She will also discuss the victories and the challenges of supporting arts and culture in Charlotte-Mecklenburg, and how she adheres to ethics and high professional standards in the role. 

Krista Terrell, APR President, Arts & Science Council (ASC)

Krista Terrell is a public relations executive with over 23 years of experience in the arts and cultural sector. In 2021, she was named President of the Arts & Science Council (ASC) a Local Arts Agency whose mission is to invest in people, programs and ideas that move toward a more equitable, sustainable, and innovative creative ecosystem in Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

Krista has been with ASC for 20 years. Her recent role was Vice President of Marketing & Communications where she led PR and Marketing efforts ranging from branding, media relations and crisis communications to advocacy, community events and influencing for diversity, equity and inclusion. She served as lead editor for ASC's inaugural Cultural Equity report that shared its inequitable funding history and its journey on the path to cultural equity. In 2021, Krista was named 2021 Newsmaker of the Year by the Charlotte Post and in 2022 named one of "The Great 28" - Black Leaders who are shaping Charlotte by QCity Metro.

She is a member of the Public Relations Society of America's Board of Ethics and Professional Standards and is active in the Charlotte chapter of PRSA where she was the inaugural recipient of the chapter's Mosaic Award in 2020 that recognizes a PR practitioner that advocates for diversity and inclusion in their work. She is also a member of the Charlotte Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

A native of Augusta, Ga., Krista earned her B.A. in Communications Arts (specializing in Public Relations) from Johnson C. Smith University and her APR (Accreditation in Public Relations) from PRSA.

Krista is married with two young sons.


List of Attendees

First Name Last Name Company Type Guest of
Brandi Barron Johnson C. Smith University Student
Aryel Bell Wells Fargo Guest
Shawna Berger Duke Energy Member
Adam Bernstein Chernoff Newman Member
Martha Botts Spark Strategic Ideas Guest Anne Marie Holder
Brittany Burton Lumin Strategies Member
Dominique Clark Cabarrus County Government Member
John Clemons Clemons Communications Member
Veronica Clemons Wells Fargo Member
Davis Conway Spiracle Media Guest
Erin Culbert Duke Energy Member
Monifa Drayton Drayton Leadership Group, LLC Guest
Sydney Dugdale AccruePartners Guest
Chris Duncan UNC Charlotte School of Professional Studies Member
Josh Edge GCI Member
Joy Elmore Goodwill Industries of the Southern Piedmont Member
Phyllis Fair Booz Allen Hamilton Member
Amy George By George Communications Member
Dee Grano Kelso Communications Member
Anne Marie Holder Spark Strategic Ideas Member
Raymond Jones Media Ink Communications Member
Katherine Kirby Firehouse Subs Member
Lo'an Lake Gobi Marketing Group, LLC Member
Towanda Long Charlotte Pipe Member
NiCole Lynch UNC Charlotte Member
Cheron Porter Inlivian: Housing Redefined Member
Julie Prestwood AccruePartners Guest
Brian Recoma UNC Charlotte School of Professional Studies Guest Chris Duncan
Addie Rising McKim & Creed Member
Rachel Roe Wells Fargo Member
Ashley Roseborough Moore & Van Allen Member
Christine Smith Truist Member
Tahira Stalberte Union County Public Schools Member
Samantha Story Goodwill Industries of the Southern Piedmont Member
Natasha Suber SCOR Member
Michael Utsman UNC Charlotte School of Professional Studies Guest Chris Duncan
Tami von Isakovics TVI Communications Member
Carly Wooten Wooten PR Guest

Website Powered by Morphogine