September Luncheon: Breaking Conventional Marketing Communication Norms to Tackle the Biggest Crisis Our Nation Has Ever Faced​ 

When: 9/29/2021 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
As marketers and communicators gear up for a post-pandemic world, we must come to terms with how Covid-19 became a catalyst for change and accelerated digital disruption.  The Ad Council, the national nonprofit which convenes the world's best marketers, created a groundbreaking public engagement campaign tackling the most pressing issues facing the country. The agency was forced to abandon traditional approaches and become more agile, creative, diverse, innovative, and collaborative.   Their campaign, led by Sherry Thompson, utilized a five-part tactical strategy that embraced both an "air" and "ground" game while integrating targeted audience intentionality toward communities of color.  Ms. Thompson will dissect the ongoing vaccine education campaign, the biggest and most important public service effort in U.S. history. 

About our speaker 
Sherry Thompson is an engineer turned marketer, who now commits each day working to transform the lives of women through health and wellness. A graduate of the University of Virginia and Duke University's Fuqua School of Business, she works as a private consultant, where she leads projects in the health and wellness space placing special emphasis on communities of color. She currently consults for the Ad Council as the Coalition Consultant Lead on the organization's Covid-19 Vaccine Education Initiative. Prior to consulting, Ms. Thompson worked at WW (formerly Weight Watchers) where she served as SVP of Diverse Community Engagement and Activation and SVP of U.S. Marketing. In these roles, she led marketing and communications efforts and developed the company's strategy to reach diverse communities. 


List of Attendees

First Name Last Name Company Type Guest of
Chris Ahearn Chris Ahearn Strategic Communications PRSA Charlotte Member
Natasha Ashe-Suber SCOR PRSA Member
Heather Beck Southeast District PRSA PRSA Charlotte Member
Shawna Berger Duke Energy PRSA Charlotte Member
Stacy Bryant Partners Health Management PRSA Charlotte Member
Tamara Christie MMRMA PRSA Member
John Clemons Clemons Communications PRSA Member
Veronica Clemons Wells Fargo PRSA Member
Davis Conway Spiracle Media Guest
Danielle Doolen Sonic Automotive, Inc. PRSA Charlotte Member
Susan Dosier DK Communications Group PRSA Member
Nicole Eaton City of Charlotte PRSA Charlotte Member
Phyllis Fair Duke Energy PRSA Member
Shawn Flynn Holy Angels PRSA Charlotte Member
Jennifer Gioia Child Care Services Association PRSA Charlotte Member
Darius Givens INLIVIAN Guest Cheron Porter
Pam Granzin SCOR PRSA Member
Patricia Guilfoyle Diocese of Charlotte, NC PRSA Charlotte Member
Kristina Hardin BASF PRSA Charlotte Member
Hanna Hayden The Reis Group Guest
Erika Helm Charlotte Douglas International Airport PRSA Charlotte Member
Laurie Hogan Westchester Country Day School PRSA Charlotte Member
Mindy Hughes Hughes Communication/PRSA PRSA Charlotte Member
Christy Jackson UNC Charlotte PRSA Charlotte Member
Suzanne Jeffries Mecklenburg County Government PRSA Charlotte Member
Raymond Jones Media Ink Communications PRSA Member
Dean Kruckeberg UNC Charlotte PRSA Member
Jean Leier I-77 Mobility Partners PRSA Charlotte Member
Rena Lewis Signature Intentions LLC PRSA Charlotte Member
Towanda Long Charlotte Pipe PRSA Charlotte Member
Jennifer M Gammage Gammage Communications LLC PRSA Charlotte Member
Caitlin Mauk UNC Charlotte PRSA Charlotte Member
Cheron Porter INLIVIAN PRSA Charlotte Member
Lynn Roberson UNC Charlotte PRSA Charlotte Member
Ashley Roseborough Moore & Van Allen PRSA Charlotte Member
Caitlin Ryan Mower PRSA Charlotte Member
Cynthia Shah-Khan Retail Business Services PRSA Charlotte Member
Julie Smith ECS Southeast, LLP PRSA Member
Julie Starck Passport Inc. PRSA Member
Ann Stawski Passport Inc. PRSA Member
Monica Sutton Self PRSA Charlotte Member
Philip Tate Philip Tate Strategic Communications, LLC PRSA Member
Justin Taylor Goodwill Industries of the Southern Piedmont PRSA Charlotte Member
Diane Villa North Carolina Zoo PRSA Charlotte Member
Chelsea Waddell INSP PRSA Charlotte Member
Jenni Walker Walker PR Group PRSA Member
Chloe Watson Amwins PRSA Charlotte Member

Website Powered by Morphogine